Summer must be over….

I know I know, it’s been a while. Get over it. Here’s the short short version of reason for the huge gap in activity…

Summer, 2500 Sqft vegetable garden, new baby, 2 year old boy, raising pigs, chickens, a full time job, grinding & pressing 400lbs of pears, making hard cider, friends & family visiting…you get the picture.

Anyway, with all that hullabaloo behind me, I finally found time to work my way back into the garage; and was met by the destruction of five month’s worth of “just toss it over there, we’ll take care of it later”. Cue 2 day garage cleanup (which actually took about 2 weeks). After getting the garage back into workable condition, I took a long hard look at the pile of Walnut sat in the corner. It was so tempting to just dive right in and start cutting & beveling & carving. Then reality set in. I have never done this before…I have just enough lumber to make the chair and not much room for oopsies.

I needed a better plan. That’s when the pile of 2x construction lumber propped against the wall started calling my name…It’s cheap, it’s abundant, it’s been sat in the shop forever so it’s nice and dry, if I screw it up, I’ll just burn it and start again. I grabbed a 2×12 and got to ripping that sucker down (I quickly discovered that the donated table saw needed the blade replacing, luckily I had somehow anticipated this and had a shiny new blade on standby). After a trip along the table saw, a quick hello to the miter saw and a couple of light passes over the jointer, I had some stock that vaguely resembled decent wood. This would do nicely as faux seat stock, all I had to do was bevel them on the saw appropriately and I’d be in business. The plans I have recommend a bevel of between 3 – 5 degrees, I started with 4 (being the middle of the road kinda guy that I am) but a test cut on some scrap made me increase the angle to a full 5 degrees (whoa there tiger…take it easy!).

I then set about beveling the seat blanks, to my surprise, this went without a hitch and I ended up with something closely resembling a bona-fide seat blank. I was so amazed that I had to go into the house and open a bottle of wine…

Here are the results…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by Paul Dalton on November 8, 2012.

One Response to “Summer must be over….”

  1. I can’t take all the credit for the slow down. You could have worked on it while I was sleeping of the refreshments.
    Love, Paw-in-Law

Leave a Reply

 
