Measuring Up

So I may be a little bit too giddy about this, but, I just bought a new tape measure. One that lays flat on your workpiece. One that doesn’t have that annoying cup that allows you to extend the tape for a mile before it collapses on you (I believe it’s called stand out…correct me if I’m wrong). One that also happens to mark, with numbers, each increment down to 1/16th of an inch.
As a product of the metric system, I cannot even begin to tell you how much this excites me. No more brain frying interpretations of “well it kinda looks like 14/16ths” only to find out that my crappy eyesight was wrong (again) and now I have a piece that is over (or worse, under) sized that has to be fixed.

….and the numbers will set you free!

It’s the small victories folks!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

~ by Paul Dalton on June 4, 2012.

2 Responses to “Measuring Up”

  1. I’m always annoyed by my tape measure but I’ve never done anything about it, which is stupid since it’s the most used tool in my workshop. I think you just inspired me to get a new tape measure!

    • Get after it. One word of caution though, the recoil on the one I got takes no prisoners. That sucker’ll do a number on your flesh if you don’t watch out.!

Leave a Reply

 
